WEST JEFFERSON — The Mountain Valley Athletic Conference All-Conference teams for volleyball, men’s soccer, cross country and women’s golf were announced Nov. 25. The All-Conference selections for football were announced Monday, Dec. 2.

Leading the Conference Co-Champion football team was head coach Brian Hampton, who was named MVAC Football Coach of the Year. Dawson Cox was named an All-Conference offensive back, Camden Current was named an All-Conference lineman and Austin Poe received an All-Conference receiver nod. Boen Crouse, Jackson Krider and J.J. Mannan receved offensive Honorable Mentions. On defense, Ryan Blevins and Gabe Bare were named All-Conference linebackers, Coby Baldwin was honored as part of the All-Conference defensive line and Drake Elliott was named an All-Conference defensive back. Jacob Miller was given a defensive back Honorable Mention.

The volleyball team saw Abby Aldridge and Cierra Burgess named All-Conference, while Jordan Lewis and Ashlynn Jones were given Honorable Mentions. The team went 13-9, their best record in more than 10 years, with a 7-7 conference record.

Cristian Ramos, Shawn Bast, Issac Miller and Chris Luna received All-Conference nods for the men’s soccer team, the team’s four only being outdone by conference champion Starmount’s five. Trent Baker and Joshua Lipscomb received Honorable Mentions. The team went 12-10, including an 11-3 in-conference record.

The MVAC Champion Huskies women’s cross country team had five All-Conference selections, Mahaley Cronk, Zoe Schell, Malorie Eller, Abby McClure and Sherry Billings. Alexis Blevins and Maggie Powers received Honorable Mentions. Head coach Shane Greene was named MVAC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year.

The MVAC Champion Huskies men’s cross country team also had five All-Conference selections, Noah Farmer, Eli Randolph, Grady Rector, Conner Howell and Josh Roten. Joseph Cary and Dylan Baldwin received Honorable Mentions. Once again, Greene was named Coach of the Year.

Ashley Hardin and Jadyn Trivett received All-Conference selections for the women’s golf team. Sarah Noblett and Melena Howell received Honorable Mentions.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.